Skip to content

Thank you Peter Fox and RPI

August 27, 2016

So long and thanks for all the Fantastically Interesting Semantic Happenings!

I have worked with Peter Fox since April 2002, the last 7 1/2 years at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute and before that at University Corporation for Atmospheric Research (UCAR). But now it is time to say my farewells as I have accepted a new position with a startup company in Boulder, Colorado. My last day with RPI is August 31, 2016.

I have learned a great deal during my time with RPI, and not just by working on funded projects, but from the many students who have stepped through the doors at the Tetherless World Constellation (TWC). It has been a joy to learn about all of the different interests that the students have and the research that they are involved in. These students have a very bright future ahead of them, as is evident by the students who have already graduated from TWC. Working in the field of Semantic Web and Data Science has been a wonderful experience. I even got to teach for a semester, intro to information technology. A … uh … interesting experience.

The funded projects have been my main focus for the time I’ve been with TWC, most notably Virtual Solar Terrestrial Observatory (VSTO), Deep Carbon Observatory, OPeNDAP (an open source software project used within the lab), Resource Discovery for Extreme Scale Collaboration (RDESC), ECOOP, collaborations with NASA’s Goddard Space Flight Center, Australia’s CSIRO, and so many more projects and collaborations.

Along the way I have worked with many great coworkers, students, faculty and collaborators. Special shoutout to Stephan Zednik, whom I’ve worked with for almost 10 years now, Evan Patton, who recently received his Doctorate degree and is now working at MIT, and Jacky Carley, for whom the lab would more than likely fall apart if she weren’t there. From Stephan, Evan and Jacky I have learned the most and have gotten to know them well through the years. I don’t think I could name them all here and I don’t want to leave anyone out. You know who you are.

And, of course, there’s Peter Fox, who I consider to be the best supervisor that I have ever had in my 25 years of being a software engineer, and whom I am proud to call a friend. Peter Fox was one of the people who brought me on board at UCAR back in April of 2002. I have enjoyed all my time working with him on all these great projects. He’s the person who has challenged me all along the way, encouraged me to participate in the community, to become a better software engineer and a better person. Thank you Peter for all your guidance and friendship.

But now for something completely different.

I have accepted a position as Senior Software Engineer with Entangled Media, a startup company in Boulder, Colorado developing their app called Younity. Younity looks to be a great application that is installed on your desktop and/or laptop allowing you to share all your files with the devices that you have installed the client app (IOS and Android). Movies, music, documents, pictures … all the content you want to have shared across all your devices without having to store them in the cloud. Content is streamed directly from your desktop/laptop to your devices using the cloud as a relay. It’s pretty cool. I’ll get to learn all about Amazon Web Services, work more in Java and JavaScript, and learn many more technologies along the way. Very excited about this opportunity.

So thanks for all the memories, and I hope to keep in touch with you all.

mrpatrickwest@gmail.com

Skype: mrpatrickwest

facebook: mrpatrickwest

google: mrpatrickwest

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Erin Robinson permalink
    August 29, 2016 10:27 am

    Good luck! I’ll miss you at ESIP Meetings. Best – Erin

    • August 29, 2016 10:34 am

      Thanks Erin … I’ll miss you all at ESIP as well. Perhaps I’ll see you around town.

Leave a Reply

